section header graphic
Search the Health Fund website for:

Kim Moore honored with
KPHA Crumbine award

Kansas Public Health Association awarded the 2017 Samuel J. Crumbine Medal to Health Fund President Kim Moore in October at its 74th annual conference. The Samuel J. Crumbine Medal is the highest honor given by KPHA and is awarded for meritorious service and state, regional, or national recognition related to the improvement of the health of Kansans and/or the environment of the state.

Becky Tuttle presents the 2017 KHPA Samuel J. Crumbine medal to Kim Moore Oct. 10, 2017 in Manhattan.
Kim Moore receiving 2017 Crumbine Award

The nomination submitted for Kim highlights his thirty years of leadership in developing a health philanthropy which has been both steady and responsive to change, and his ability to engage communities and partners in improving the health of Kansans.

Major initiatives under his leadership have included oral health, healthy activity and nutrition for young children, breastfeeding support for infant and maternal health, young children's healthy social emotional development, and Healthy Congregations - a long-running partnership with local United Methodist churches to foster intentional, effective health ministries in congregations and surrounding communities.

Kim's servant leadership has included service as a member of the Oral Health Policy Group and Health Resources and Services Administration's Access Planning Steering Committee for the state of Kansas; service on the boards of Grantmakers in Health in Washington D.C., Oral Health Kansas in Topeka; and the Reno County Historical Society. He is a member of Trinity United Methodist Church in Hutchinson and serves on the church's administrative council.

The nomination concludes by stating "there is so much more to say about the many ways Kim Moore has influenced the health of so many in our state. Best of all, his inviting demeanor and passion for the work inspires others to act."

KPHA was founded in 1920 by Dr. Samuel Crumbine, a great Kansan who began the public health movement and today is recognized nationally. His public health campaigns sought to improve practices and conditions to prevent the spread of communicable diseases. The Crumbine Medal has been awarded annually since 1946. More information may be found at: